chocolate walnut banana bread (egg-free, sugar-free, whole wheat)

DSC01873

A few days ago, I realized that there is no simple banana bread recipe on this blog! My kids do not like simple banana bread; somehow the taste of just wheat and banana does not appeal to them. I have date syrup with me, so this time when I found 2 overripe bananas with us, I made a chocolate version, sans sugar. This combination turned out to be really moist and delicious. Now, everybody in the house loved it!

DSC01867

This week’s Fiesta Friday #29 party is hosted by Selma and Jhuls, over at the Novice Gardener’s. I’m taking this simple treat there; hope it is liked by all!

chocolate walnut banana bread

  • Servings: 6-8
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

Ingredients:

Whole wheat pastry flour-  1 3/4 cup; 215 g (whole wheat flour or atta can be used instead)

Ripe banana- 2

Cocoa powder- 1/3 cup; 24 g

Date syrup- 2/3 cup

chopped walnuts- 1/3 cup

baking soda- 1/2 tbsp.

salt- a pinch

butter- 2 tbsp.

Method:

* Pre-heat oven to 350 °F.

* Mash bananas with hands/ladle. Add date syrup and melted butter to it.

* Combine flour, salt, baking soda, cocoa powder in a bowl and mix with the wet ingredients.

* Pour batter into a greased loaf pan. Bake for about 40 minutes or till a knife inserted in the center comes clean.

* Allow to cool; top with finely chopped nuts for garnish.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

41 responses to “chocolate walnut banana bread (egg-free, sugar-free, whole wheat)

  1. This looks totally lovely Apsara –
    and great timing as I’ve been trying out banana bread / cake recipes to find a keeper – this looks as though it will be it!
    Thank you for sharing the recipe and inspirational photos –
    Emma 🙂

    Like

  2. Looks delicious I love any combination of chocolate and banana, I can only imagine the rich flavor that date syrup would add, thanks for sharing 🙂

    Like

  3. Pingback: Mille Crêpe Cake | Fiesta Friday #29 | The Novice Gardener·

  4. Hmm, another healthy treat for today’s FF. I am happy to indulge this – I am not going to feel guilty after a few slices. 😛 As I said to others before, I admire how people turn recipes into healthy ones. I have not eaten banana bread without sugar, but I can see the date syrup made this banana bread sweet and moist. Am I right?

    Thanks for bringing this and I assure you that this is loved by the FF crowd. 😉 Enjoy the rest of your weekend! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  5. A lovely, simple and healthy recipe for banana bread, Apsara -thank you so much for bringing this to the party, it has been much appreciated by all! Do you know (roughly) what the proportions are when subbing date syrup for sugar? Have a wonderful FF and a great week!

    Like

  6. I’m so glad you like it, Selma. I would have used the same amount of sugar (if using raw sugar) or slightly lesser (refined sugar). In this case, I went by the sweetness and consistency of the batter and added extra date syrup in the end, just before pouring in the pan. You have a great week too!

    Like

  7. Pingback: Whole Wheat Flour & Olive Oil Walnut Spice Loaf Cake Confused Bawarchis·

Leave a comment