What is Isabgol or Psyllium Husk?

DSC_0126

I had heard of the health benefits of isabgol or psyllium husks before but it was when I found them at Trader Joe’s, that I actually looked into it and how they can be used in everyday cooking. It is also available at Whole Foods Market and health stores.

DSC_0112

Isabgol (as it is called in India) or psyllium husks are made from the seeds of the plantago ovata plant. It is used as a home remedy for constipation as well as diarrhea, and as a great colon cleanser. Regular consumption is known to maintain a healthy weight, promote digestive health, keep diabetes at bay and reduce cholesterol levels. (source: here)

DSC_0114

When combined with water, it expands in volume and forms a gel-like substance (almost like chia seeds) and this makes it an excellent binding agent in baked goods, including gluten-free cakes (read: egg-replacer).

9 responses to “What is Isabgol or Psyllium Husk?

  1. Pingback: Vanilla cupcakes for the New Year (gluten-free, egg-free with vegan option) | Eating Well Diary·

  2. Elaine, I have not used them yet as a therapeutic; my idea is to incorporate into baking to increase fibre content. I think small amounts would be good to consume.
    My 3-year old has eaten cupcakes made with these with no adverse reaction. He has had hemorrhoids in the past and I’m doing my best to avoid giving him Metamucil.

    Like

  3. Hey Apsara happy new year to you! Sorry to hear about your sons hemorrhoids. Its sad when your little ones go through such things. My daughter suffers from severe constipation on a regular basis so ive recently started using this for her. I use it in her cereals and also in my dough for rotis. Seems to work well for all of us in the family too.😊

    Like

  4. Pingback: Healthy Festive Baked Crackers (gluten-free, oil-free, vegan) | Eating Well Diary·

  5. Pingback: Meatless Monday- In quest of the perfect gluten-free flatbread/ roti | Eating Well Diary·

Leave a comment